In a blink of an eye, life can change.

I have a special needs adult daughter. She has become an independent women living with girlfriends and working everyday in a sheltered environment workshop. But one day, she got sick. Her illness got worse. And her life changed and so did mine.

She was in and out of emergency rooms, hospitals, doctor’s offices, and ambulances. She was threatened, restrained, , and drugged.

I was confused, enraged, exhausted, and frantic for her.

Mothers know their children. They know their needs. Doctors treat what they see and don’t take the time to know their patients. Special needs adults are ignored and isolated because they can’t communicate or understand what is happening. I was her voice.

Five months after the initial illness, my daughter is trying to regain some sort of normalcy, and so am I. She has lost the desire to enjoy life, and won’t allow me to do it either. I worry. I can’t sleep. I can’t eat and am losing my hair.

Fear is the dark cloud hanging over both of our heads. She fears doctors, hospitals and needles. I fear she won’t ever return to that amazing woman she once was.

Two lives wasted in a blink of an eye.

Leave a Reply

